To me, it’s funny. Comical. Goofy. Silly.
Just absolutely, brain-dead, sheep-like, easy-way-out moronic that anyone defending Sunday’s decision by officials to overturn a catch that led to a touchdown by Pittsburgh tight end Jesse James would go with the classic fallback, “well, it was the right call according to the rulebook.”
Not for nothing, but y’all might wanna actually get out the reading glasses and do a little studying.
Because James’ catch most certainly was, well, a catch … by rule.
Item 1 to Article 3 (Completed or Intercepted Pass) clearly states that when a player going to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), such as James was, he “must maintain control of the ball until after his initial contact with the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone” for a pass to be complete.
James’ initial contact with the ground occurred just inside the 1-yard line with – pay attention now; that includes you, too, Cris Carter – both of his feet (not one, CC, both), his left leg and, for you ladies or fellas interested in such things, butt cheek touching the turf before he ever then twisted his body to lean across the goal line. The catch was complete right then – by rule. By the godforsaken stupid rule which so many officials, fans and even the damn rule-makers seem to confuse.
Furthermore, it couldn’t even be a catch, then fumble and recovery in the end zone by James as some had suggested. Why? Because the catch was complete at the 1, and, as such, any advancement by the Penn State into the colored grass would result in “six” moment the ball crossed the plane – which, in this case, occurred before it touched the turf and moved, sending all common sense and ability to understand words to hell.
There is no official “complete the process of the catch” that entails some cult-like understanding seemingly only shared between the NFL’s under lords and the New England Patriots and those afraid to rock the boat of either.
Here is the reality: the refs blew the call on replay. Just flat-out blew it. They got it right on the field. Then they misinterpreted the rulebook while watching video.
Usually in the Pats’ favor. But, ya know, that’s another beef for another day.
Yo, the Steelers could have put this one away numerous times. James’ “non”-catch, while looming so large ever since darkness descended upon western Pennsylvania’s incredibly unheralded hub Sunday evening, would have been a total non-issue had Pittsburgh not gone ultra-conservative up 8 entering the fourth quarter.
At worst, a gimme game-tying field goal looming, the home team heads to OT if Ben Roethlisberger just throws it away with the clock winding down instead of trying to force an ill-advised slant pass to Eli Rogers that got deflected and intercepted to end the game with 5 seconds remaining.
Frankly, not sure what was worse in this one: an all-time mistake by one of my all-time faves or yet another game-deciding screw-up by the officials.
Just glad everything was “right” at the end.